My own personal bully

I read a post by HandsFreeMama earlier this week about the bully close to home.  I realized as I read her story, I am my own personal bully.  I bully myself in believing perfection is possible.  It is difficult for me to not be the best in all things, so when I decided to take it easy this Christmas, I’ve had a difficult time forgiving myself.

I love Christmas and everything that involves Christmas.  However this year Christmas is different.  Don’t get me wrong, I still love the decorations, food, and music that celebrates the precious gift of Jesus.  This year I am not doing all of these things.  I have a tree, but it is a small tree.  I normally decorate a tree in several rooms of my house, each worthy to be displayed in Macy’s.  Each room is fully decorated with a theme for each room.  I am still baking, but I am fine with the simple snickerdoodles.  I still enjoy listening to the Christmas music, but I’m not singing in the choir.

After reading this article, I am reminded that all of these activities are lovely, but they are not important if they separate me in anyway from  my boys (my husband and my son).  So instead of spending a weekend decorating, I am watching a movie with my boys.  Instead of choir practice I am catching up on the day.  Snickerdoodles are Jeremy’s favorite, so that is hardly a loss.

What I need to do, is give myself the permission to not be perfect.  I need to remember that it isn’t perfection Curtis will remember when he leaves our home, but how he felt when he was at home.

 

HandsFreeMama http://www.handsfreemama.com/2013/12/10/the-bully-too-close-to-home

Leave a comment